Pulling the proverbial finger out – Happy 2014

Ahoy! And welcome to 2014. I’m currently only 51 days behind you all, but over the next month or so I plan to really catch you all up.

A blog is like a garden, it needs frequent tending otherwise it’s not worth having. And frankly, I’ve been less than green-fingered these last few months, but the future looks bright, and with deft planning that would make a PR fox swoon, this blog will become the focal point for all things Gumbi. Hooray!

So, what can I tell you about the last six months? Quite a bit and not a lot. In new book news Jurassic What is so close to being finished I can smell the barcode. Kindle testing needs to begin again as there were some bugs. But the print version is looking snazzy and I’m aiming for  a mid-march release on all formats. At the moment I’m doing boring checks like making sure I’ve spelt ‘T-rex’ consistently throughout (hey, if I’ve spelt something wrong, at least I’ll be consistently wrong. I’ve got standards).

In other news, my first novel found a lot of new readers last year. I put ‘The Pirates of Maryland Point’ on Kindle for free for a limited time and moved over 100 copies in a few days, even breaking into the Kindle Comedy Download chart. Not bad considering there was no publicity whatsoever. Really chuffed with that. There’s no further plans for the novel (I think we can officially declare the London Olympic hype over now, right?) so will leave it online and see what time does to it. I have no plans for a sequel.

This year, my aim is get Jurassic What out and then crack on with writing new things. As it stands my Freddie Mercury comedy is at 40,000 words (that’s about half a novel) and I’ve got the bones of some other ideas sketched out. May try my hand at a different genre (something serious, maybe). Been inspired by two great books I’ve read over the last few years, On The Beach by Nevil Shute and Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – I’d like to do something that recaptures they joy I had reading them.

Right, I think that’s it for now.

Until next year!

